Brianna’s Law Takes Effect in NYS
As of January 1, 2020, “Brianna’s Law” has taken effect in the hopes of making those who use New York’s waterways safer. The law, named after an 11-year-old girl who was killed in a tragic boating accident 15 years ago, demands all those who use boats with engines take either two 4-hour boating safety classes or 4 two-hour classes. The legislation has drawn bipartisan support in New York State, as the law simply seeks to educate motorists to decrease the chances of accidents like the one mentioned above from ever happening again. To further encourage boaters to attend the mandatory safety course, they will generally be fined $200 if caught operating their motorboat without completing the course.
Unfortunately, despite everyone’s best efforts, boating accidents will still happen, even if significantly less often. When people operate any motorized means of transportation, there is always a chance of an accident occurring, generally due to operator negligence. If you have been injured in a boating accident, even if it was last year, you still may qualify for financial compensation. The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in New York State is three years, so you will have three years from the date of your accident to file your claim. However, you must act fast–the sooner you bring your claim to our firm’s attention, the sooner we can help. Please read on and reach out to our experienced New York personal injury attorneys to learn more about the legal process going forward.
What are some types of boating negligence?
Boat operators, as well as their passengers, must behave responsibly and follow the law at all times to ensure all are safe. When they do not, people are often injured. Some of the most common types of boating negligence can include boating while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, speeding, failing to provide passengers with safety equipment, failing to pay attention to obstacles and surroundings, and more.
How do I know if I qualify for compensation?
To qualify for financial compensation, you will have to hire an attorney who can prove you were injured due to another party’s negligence. To prove your claim, your attorney may work to recover pictures or videos of the accident, witness statements corroborating your story, medical documents, police reports filed at the scene of the accident, and more. Our firm is here to help.
Contact our experienced Westchester County firm
Hausman & Pendzick effectively represent victims of neglect in Westchester County and across the state of New York. We understand how challenging life can be without financial compensation for serious injuries you have wrongly sustained. If you need a knowledgeable and skilled personal injury attorney to help you recover compensation after an accident, contact Hausman & Pendzick today.