wear seatbelt cars traffic road

Car accidents occur often, and this does not change when you ride in an Uber or Lyft. Often, we do not think twice about utilizing rideshare services, but it is important to know what to do in the event that an accident occurs. Read on to learn more about Uber/Lyft accidents in New York.

Common Causes of Car Accidents

Car accidents can occur for any number of reasons. Some accidents are due to faulty car parts, inclement weather, or hazardous road conditions. But, for the most part, these accidents can be traced back to driver negligence. The most common forms of negligence include:

  • Making illegal turns
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Driving while fatigued
  • Tailgating
  • Texting and driving
  • Carelessly changing lanes
  • Speeding
  • Otherwise driving recklessly by ignoring traffic lights, signs, and all other rules of the road

Recovering Compensation

If you are injured in an Uber/Lyft accident, your injuries may be covered to an extent, depending upon the circumstances of the accident. Uber/Lyft’s coverage is as follows:

  • Period 0: Period 0 is when the Uber/Lyft driver has not yet logged into the rideshare app and was involved in an accident. When this happens, Uber/Lyft will not provide coverage.
  • Period 1: This is when the Uber/Lyft driver is logged in to the app but has not yet accepted a ride at the time of the accident. At this time, the company will provide liability coverage of up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Period 2: This is when the driver gets in an accident after accepting a trip and is en route to the passenger’s location. In this situation, Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage increases to $1 million.
  • Period 3: If the passenger is in the rideshare car at the time of the accident occurring, Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage is up to $1 million, as well as additional limited coverage for any damage to the driver’s car and the uninsured motorists’ coverage.

How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?

An injury can take a major toll physically, financially, mentally, and emotionally. If you are injured due to another party’s negligence, you may be entitled to recover compensation for these burdens. If you wish to pursue legal action, you will have to do so within a certain amount of time. In New York, the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim is generally three years.

If you have been injured in an Uber/Lyft accident, contact our firm today.


Hausman & Pendzick effectively represent victims of negligence in Westchester County and across the state of New York. We understand how challenging life can be without financial compensation for serious injuries you have wrongly sustained. If you need a knowledgeable and skilled personal injury attorney to help you recover compensation after an accident, contact Hausman & Pendzick today.